The purpose of this article is to help you understand: 

  • How the unassigned folder works
  • Different uses of this feature

 

How does the unassigned folder work?

To get started, we’d recommend enabling your providers’ email and SMS notifications to alert them when new jobs are added to the folder.  To do this, you can go to:

  • Settings
  • Notifications
  • General

This way, your workers will be made aware of each opportunity as it comes in. You can also disable providers’ ability to see bookings in the unassigned folder if you do not want them to be able to see or add these jobs to their schedule. If you are comfortable allowing them to pick up jobs as needed, they can browse this area in their dashboard and view booking details to help with their decision process.

The unassigned folder utilizes your provider’s settings and availability to show them jobs that they are not yet booked for, regardless of whether they are marked as “available” or not. As long as no other bookings are in the way, your providers can add a booking to their schedule even on their days off. As soon as a job is picked up or added by the admin to a provider’s schedule, it will disappear from the unassigned folder so no other worker can add it.  

 

How do I use it?

Any booking can be placed in the unassigned folder by navigating to the second page of your booking form In the “Assigned To” section.  If you are moving a previously booked appointment into this area, you can click the blue “Reschedule” button.  From here, you can select “All Future Appointments” if you are moving the entire recurring service in the folder, or you can click “This Booking Only” if you are only looking to move a single job.  You can select the desired date and arrival time and even assign a priority level of “Low”, “Medium”, or “High”.  Once you have made the necessary modifications, click the blue “Update Booking” to complete the move.  If you are creating a brand new booking and want to place it into the unassigned folder, you will follow the same steps and click the “Move to Unassigned Folder” option instead of select a provider.  

The unassigned folder is a useful tool to help the admin and staff track and assign jobs to providers, or to view waitlisted jobs submitted by customers.  To view all upcoming jobs in the section, you would click on the “Bookings” tab, and then select the “Unassigned Bookings” option.  

 

Unassigned Folder action buttons

Each booking in the unassigned folder has several different action tools to help with tracking, promoting, and assigning the job.  The triangle icon allows you to assign a priority to a booking, if useful.  All bookings submitted to the waitlist by customers come at the lowest priority level, signified by the color grey.  You can click the icon to elevate the priority and select the orange icon for medium priority, and the red icon for highest priority.  

Next to the this icon is the assign provider icon.  By clicking this icon, you can view a list of all available and “not available” providers.  Available providers have an opening in their schedule that can accommodate that bookings time and settings. “Not Available” providers are not marked as available in the system, however they do not have any other bookings or obligations in the system that would overlap with this booking’s time and length.  This allows you to assign work your provider’s schedule, even if they originally were not open to work that day. Providers that have conflicts with the booking time, length, or settings will not be displayed at all in either section.

The following icon is the envelope icon and this allows you to send alerts and messages to your providers to alert them to a job in the unassigned folder.   You can select providers and teams from both the available and not available lists, add a custom message, and then decide if you’d like to send the alert via email, SMS, app alert, or all three.  When the alert is received, the provider can log into their dashboard and grab the job if they are interested.

If you’ve already sent out an invitation using this icon, a clock icon will appear.  This will automatically resend your original invitation and remind all providers that the job is still available.

The pen icon can be used to edit the booking details, the trash icon will cancel the appointment out, and the arrow icon will show you a brief summary of the booking details.