The purpose of this article is to help you learn:
- What system alerts are
- How the system alerts work
- Who can receive system alerts
- Where they are located
- How to enable/disable alerts
- How to edit alert messages
What Are System Alerts?
System alerts are notifications that you, as the admin, receive in your dashboard when a new action has been taken by either you, a customer, a provider, or the system itself. System alerts can be checked by clicking on the bell icon at the top right of your dashboard. The red box on top of the bell will show the number of new system alerts.
How Do They Work?
System alerts are simply notifications that let you know when a new action has been taken in BookingKoala. You can enable these alerts for almost any kind of activity in your platform to be notified if a new lead fills out a form, a booking is starting soon, a job was canceled, and much more. You can always enable or disable these alerts at any time in the Notifications section.
To view all recent system alerts, click "See all notifications" at the bottom of the drop-down panel.
Who Can Receive System Alerts?
Admin and staff are able to receive and view system alerts. System alerts pertain to day-to-day operations, so they are only displayed from the backend of BookingKoala when inside an admin or staff account.
Where Are They Located?
To view and modify the system alerts, please go to:
Settings > Notifications > System Alerts
All of the system alerts are placed into categories. To view the alert options, click on the category heading or the plus sign icon to the right.
Once you click on the heading, a drop-down will appear showing all of the system alerts.
If an alert is green and reads "Enabled", the alert is live, active, and will notify you when that action has been taken. If the alert is red and reads "Disabled" this means that the alert is inactive and will not notify you when the action has been taken.
How Do I Enable or Disable System Alerts?
If you wish to enable or disable a system alert, all you need to do is click on the "Enable/Disable" toggle button.
A pop-up will appear asking you to confirm the change, click "Yes" and your change will be automatically saved.
How Do I Edit the System Alert Text?
You can customize the message you receive when a system alert is triggered. To do this, click the "Edit" pencil icon.
A new window will open where you can modify the message for the system alert. Remember to click "Save" to update any changes. You may also use the "Restore To Default" button to reset the text to the original system's message.